Technical Advisors

2017 - 2018 Technical Advisors

Technical Advisors serve under the association’s board of directors. These advisors are subject matter experts in the following areas:

Air Quality  

Vacant

Aquatic Venues / Recreational Health

Tracynda Davis, MPH
Davis Strategic Consulting, LLC,
E-mail: tracynda@yahoo.com

CDR Jasen Kunz, MPH, REHS, USPHS
CDC/NCEH, 
E-mail: izk0@cdc.gov

Built Environment and Land Use

Kari Sasportas, MSW, MPH, REHS/RS
Cambridge Public Health Dept., 
E-mail: ksasportas@challiance.org

Robert Washam, MPH, RS.
E-mail: b_washam@hotmail.com

Children's Environmental Health

Anna Jeng, MS, ScD, 
Old Dominion University, 
E-mail: hjeng@odu.edu

Climate Change 

Richard Valentine,
Salt Lake County Health Dept.
E-mail: rvalentine@slco.org

Drinking Water / Environmental Water Quality

Craig Gilbertson, 
Minnesota Dept. of Health,
E-mail: craig.gilbertson@state.mn.us

Maureen Pepper, 
Drinking Water Program, Idaho Dept. of Environmental Quality,
E-mail: maureen.pepper@deq.idaho.gov

Emergency Preparedness And Response

Marcy Barnett, MA, MS, REHS
California Dept. of Public Health, Center for Environmental Health, 
E-mail: marcy.barnett@cdph.ca.gov

Martin A. Kalis
CDC
E-mail: mkalis@cdc.gov 

Food (including Safety and Defense)

Eric Bradley, MPH, REHS, CP-FS, DAAS
Scott County Health Dept., 
E-mail: Eric.Bradley@scottcountyiowa.com

John A. Marcello, CP-FS, REHS, 
FDA, Tempe, AZ.
E-mail: john.marcello@fda.hhs.gov

General Environmental Health

Tara Gurge 
Needham Health Dept., 
Email: tgurge@needhamma.gov

Cynthia McOliver, 
National Center for Environmental Research, Office of Research and Development, U.S. EPA.
E-mail: mcoliver.cynthia@epa.go

Hazardous Materials / Toxic Substances

Crispin Pierce, PhD
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, 
E-mail: piercech@uwec.edu

Healthy Homes and Housing 

Judeth Luong, 
City of Long Beach Health Dept.,
E-mail: judeth.luong@longbeach.gov

Industry

Nicole Grisham, 
University of Colorado,
E-mail: nicole.grisham@colorado.edu

Informatics and Technology

Darryl Booth, MPA
Accela, 
E-mail: dbooth@accela.com

Injury Prevention 

Alan Dellapenna, RS,  
North Carolina Division of Public Health, 
E-mail: alan.dellapenna@dhhs.nc.gov

Institutions

Robert W. Powitz, MPH, PhD, RS, CP-FS, 
R.W. Powitz & Associates, PC,  
E-mail: powitz@sanitarian.com

International Environmental Health

Sylvanus Thompson, PhD, CPHI (C)
Toronto Public Health, Toronto,  
E-mail: sthomps@toronto.ca

Land Use Planning and Design 

Robert Washam, MPH, RS
Jensen Beach, FL. 
E-mail: b_washam@hotmail.com

Occupational Health / Safety

Tracy Zontek, PhD
Western Carolina University, 
E-mail: zontek@email.wcu.edu

Onsite Wastewater

Sara Simmonds,
Kent County Health Dept.
E-mail: sara.simmonds@kentcountymi.gov

Radiation / Radon

Bob Uhrik
South Brunswick Township,  
E-mail: ruhrik@sbtnj.net

Risk Assessment

Jason Marion, PhD, 
Eastern Kentucky University, 
E-mail: jason.marion@eku.edu

Schools 

Stephan Ruckman
Worthington City Schools, 
E-mail: mphosu@yahoo.com

Sustainability 

Timothy Murphy, PhD, REHS/RS, DAAS, 
The University of Findlay, 
E-mail: murphy@findlay.edu

Vector Control / Zoonotic Diseases

Steven Ault, 
PAHO/WHO (retired),
E-mail: aultstev@hotmail.com

Tyler Zerwekh, MPH, DrPH, REHS,
Shelby County Health Dept.
E-mail: tyler.zerwekh@shelbycountytn.gov

Workforce Development, Management, and Leadership

Elizabeth Jarpe-Ratner, 
MidAmerica Center for Public Health Practice, University of Illinois at Chicago.
E-mail: ejarpe2@uic.edu